In a significant move geared towards preparing for the much-anticipated 2027 Africa Cup of Nations, the Cabinet has granted approval for the construction of a brand-new stadium and the refurbishment of four existing sports facilities.

This development follows the recent allocation of co-hosting rights for the upcoming tournament to East Africa, under the ‘Pamoja Bid’ by the Executive Committee of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

In a statement released on Monday, the government unveiled an expansive plan to lay the foundation for this premier continental football extravaganza. Key aspects of the plan include the establishment of the Talanta Sports Complex, a category-four football stadium designed to accommodate an impressive 60,000 spectators. Additionally, three existing stadia, namely Kasarani, Nyayo, and Kipchoge Keino, have been earmarked for extensive renovation. The renovation efforts will focus on rehabilitating the pitches, running tracks, and changing rooms for both teams and match officials.

The government has underscored that securing the bid to host Afcon is a fundamental aspect of the Talanta Hela Initiative. This initiative is strategically aligned with the objective of guiding Kenya’s national football team, Harambee Stars, to actively participate in the World Cup in 2030, in line with the Football Vision 2030. The collaborative effort of three host nations, namely Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania, is being steered by a coordinating team led by the respective Sports Ministers. This team also includes Sports Principal/Permanent Secretaries, Presidents of the three Football Federations, and dedicated technical support teams.

This united team is undergoing a transformation, shifting from a Bid Committee to a Regional Afcon Host Steering Team. Under this approach, a multi-agency Local Organising Committee (LOC) is proposed to operate, with the respective Sports Ministers as the committee chairs. The LOCs will comprise critical ministries pivotal in organising and efficiently executing the tournament. For Kenya, these key ministries include the Ministry of Interior and National Administration, the Ministry of Defence, the National Treasury and Economic Planning, the Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs, the Ministry of Roads and Transport, the Ministry of Information, Communication and the Digital Economy, the Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage, and the Ministry of East African Community, the A, SALs, and Regional Development.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Radio
WP Radio