Kakamega county Governor Fernandes Barasa today named his cabinet and rewarded his allies.

Governor Barasa dropped all the County Executive Committee Members (CECM) who served in the Governor Wycliffe Oparanya’s administration, naming his CEC members together with his chief officers with majority of them being his political allies who aided him grasp the governorship seat

Barasa named his Deputy Ayub Savula as the CEC for Trade, Industrialization and Tourism, Former Cabinet Administrative Secretary of Agriculture Lawrence Omuhaka in former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s government will head the Public Service docket.

Others are St Joseph’s Boys Kitale Principal, Godfrey Owour (Education), Kakamega ODM chair Mophat Mandela (Social Service, Sports, Youth, Gender and Culture) and former Health CECM Peninah who will head the department of Lands and Housing.

 Benjamin Andama who stepped down from his senatorial race in the ODM party was awarded the department of Agriculture. 

According to Barasa, the Department of Agriculture, livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives will be headed by Benjamin Andama, Department of Lands, Housing, Urban areas and Physical Planning will be headed by Peninah Mukabane. The Department of Social Services, Sports, Youth and Gender and Culture will be headed by Mophat Mandela, Department of education, science and technology will be headed by Godfrey Owuor.   

By Kefa Linda

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Radio
WP Radio