President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed 24 Ambassadors and High Commissioners.

The Head of State also appointed seven new Ambassadors who will serve as Deputy Heads of Missions and four officials to the post of Consul-General.

Further, the president has appointed an Ambassador and Special Envoy for the Maritime and Blue Economy.

He also promoted six senior Foreign Service Officers to the rank of Ambassadors at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Headquarters.

Among those appointed is former ICT Permanent Secretary Bitange Ndemo who will be the Ambassador of the Kingdom of Belgium and the National Assembly Clerk Michael Sialai who is now the High Commissioner of the Republic of Namibia.

Nyeri Deputy Governor Dr. Caroline Karugu has been appointed as Kenyan Ambassador to Denmark.

Principal Secretary State Department for Shipping and Maritime was appointed Ambassador and Special Envoy for Maritime and Blue Economy.

Karigithu held the position of Director General (DG) of Kenya Maritime Authority (KMA) where she served for nine (9) years and currently sits on the Board of Governors of the World Maritime University (WMU), based in Malmo, Sweden.

Tomas Kwako Omolo alias Big Ted was appointed Consul-General to head the Kenya Consulate at Los Angeles, United States of America.

Former Dagoretti South Member of Parliament Dennis Waweru will serve as a Consul General in the Democratic Republic of Congo while outgoing National Assembly Clerk Michael Sialai will be Kenya’s High Commissioner to Namibia.

Others include Ambassador Diana Kiambuthi (Rwanda), Ambassador Michael Oyugi (Spain) Maj Gen ( Rtd ) Thomas Chepkuto (Somalia), Ambassador Isaac Njenga (Tanzania) Leonard Boiyo (Turkey), and Maj Gen (Rtd) George Owinow (Uganda).

The newly appointed Ambassadors and High Commissioners (Heads of Mission) are:

  1. Mr. Clement Nzomo – Ambassador of the Republic of Angola
  2. Ms Mary Mogwanja – Ambassador to the Republic of Austria
  3. Prof. Bitange Ndemo – Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium
  4. Ms Muthoni Gichohi – Ambassador to the Peoples Republic of China
  5. Amb. Gathoga Chege –  Ambassador to the Republic of Cuba
  6. Dr. Caroline Wanjiru Karugu – Ambassador to the Kingdom of Denmark
  7. Amb. Salim Salim Ambassador to the Republic of Djibouti
  8. Maj Gen A.G. Matiiri – Ambassador to the Arab Republic of Egypt
  9. Amb. Galma Baru – Ambassador to Me Republic of Indonesia
  10. Amb. Paul Ndung’u – Ambassador to the Republic of Mozambique
  11. Mr. Michael Sialai – High Commissioner to the Republic of Namibia
  12. Maj Gen Andrew Ikenye – High Commissioner to the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  13. Ms Margaret Shave – Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
  14. Ms Amina Abdalla – Ambassador to the Sultanate of Oman
  15. Amb. Nyambura Kamau – High Commissioner to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan
  16. Mr. Boniface N Mwilu – Ambassador to the State of Qatar
  17. Amb. Diana Kiambuthi – High Commissioner to the Republic of Rwanda
  18. Amb. Michael Oyugi – Ambassador to the Kingdom or Spain
  19. Maj Gn (Rtd) Thomas Chepkuto – Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Somalia
  20. Amb. Isaac Njenga –  High Commissioner to the United Republic of Tanzania
  21. Mr. Leonard Boiyo – Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey
  22. Maj Gen(Rtd) George Owino – High Commissioner to the Republic of Uganda
  23. Prof Richard Bosire – Ambassador/Permanent Representative to the United Nations  Educational, Scientific and cultural Organisation (UNESCO).
  24. Maj Gen (Rtd) Charles Gituai – Ambassador/Permanent Representative to the Inter-Government Authority for Development (IGAD)

The Newly appointed Ambassadors and Deputy Heads of Missions are:

  1. Ms Hariet Nduma- Kenya Embassy Vienna, Austria
  2. Mr Dennis Makobu -Kenya Embassy Brussels, Begium
  3. Mr Edwin Afande – Kenya Embassy Beijing, China
  4. Mr George Kwanya – Kenya Embassy Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  5. Mr Sammy Nyule Ngumbao – Kenya Embassy Tokyo
  6. Ms Jane Sirindi Githinji-  Kenya Embassy Mosco, Russia

The Consuls-General are:

  1. Mr Dennis Mburu – Kenya Consulate Arusha, Tanzania 
  2. Dennis Waweru – Kenya Consulate Goma, Democaratic Republic of Congo
  3. Benson Mwaliko – Kenya Consulate Hargesia, Somaliland
  4. Tomas Kwaka Omolo – Kenya Consulate United States of America

The Ambassador and special Envoy for Maritime and Blue Economy is Mrs Nancy Karigithu.

The Foreign Service Officers promoted to the rank of Ambassadors at the Ministry’s Headquarters are:

  1. Mr Fredrick Matwang’a
  2. Mr Phillip Githiora
  3. Ms Betty Cherwon
  4. Mrs Angeline Musili
  5. Ms Peris Kariuki
  6. Mr Yabesh Monari

The names of the new appointees now await parliamentary vetting and approval.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Radio
WP Radio